33 YEARS LATER…

The year 2012 was a year of big changes, personally. Much of it will hopefully be resolved and stabilized in 2013. 2012 was a big year of changes, healthwise. I started regular exercise exacly 1 year ago, resumed race competition after a 30-plus year hiatus, and started paying much better attention to the quality of food I put into my body. And it has been a lot more food, too – over 312,000 kcal’s worth extra over the last 12 months.
I look forward to a faster 2013. My running, and cycling base will be much more solid going into the early Spring race season. It will be very interesting to repeat some of the same events and truly be able to compare last year to this year. This winter, I will have two new events never attempted before: a half marathon, and then 3 weeks later a full marathon. I am self trained, and so my confidence wavers back and forth with these longer endurance events. I signed up for the marathon pretty ambitious and set pretty high goals. I didn’t realize how long those long training runs really are. It is a real commitment. I have continued my training, but possibly ratcheting back my expectations for time and pace. I will just try to do my best, finish it, and then start concentrating on triathlon season. The discipline of all the running I have done over the winter will certainly help build a strong running base for triathlons.

Here’s an important observation. Triathlon winners, regardless of the age group, are fast runners! It doesn’t matter if you are a world class swimmer, you’ve got to be able to hold your own on the bike and kick ass on the run.

Speaking of swimming. I found this 33 year old photograph from my glory days of high school swimming: I was a pure sprinter. My event were between 20 seconds and 2 minutes (actually 1minute 42 seconds for the 200 yd. An event lasting upwards of two minutes would have required some pacing and nutrition strategy)

Fountain Valley High School Swim Team 1980. Off the blocks.

Fountain Valley High School Swim Team 1980. Off the blocks.

I tried recently to duplicate this taut muscular form. This is the best I could do:

Off the blocks in 2012. Not quite the rigid muscular form I enjoyed 33 years ago.

Off the blocks in 2012. Not quite the rigid muscular form I enjoyed 33 years ago.

Hey, at least I can still get away with wearing a Speedo. Good luck in your 2013 season.

This entry was posted in REVIEW, Swimming, Triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 33 YEARS LATER…

  1. isaac976 says:

    Wow.. I have to say u still looking fab.. What’s your daily swim mileage.. I bet its on the high side since u came from a swim background.

    • I have been swimming more than uual lately, but not more than 3200 meter ( 2 mile) per workout. Lately, 10 swims in the last 30 days. It’s enough to maintain. I’ve been working more on running and cycling. I have my first marathon run on my 50th birthday coming up in a few weeks. I’m new-ish to running so I don’t have a strong base of years like so many other do in the sports. The good news is that I have good knee cartilage- like a baby.

  2. Props and then some. Great times on the half marathon – and um, may i politely say that i quite enjoyed the perv on both the young and ‘older’ versions of your starting block photos.

Leave a Reply

