SURF CITY HALF MARATHON 2014

EVENT: Half Marathon  | Surf City Marathon and Half Marathon
DATE: February 2 , 2014
LOCATION: Huntington Beach, CA
DISTANCES: 13.1 miles
TIME / PACE /PLACE: 1:31:06 (PR) / 6:56/mi. pace / 6th of 641 in age group and  227th out of 15447 overall runners
SPLITS: 7:01 / 6:53 / 6:48 / 7:06 (hill) / 6:52 / 6:47 / 6:48 / 6:46 / 6:54 / 7:11 / 7:16 / 7:00 / 7:06

About 16,000 of my runner friends showed up.

About 16,000 of my runner friends showed up.

This is a pretty big turnout, I think, for a smaller beach city. I figured parking was going to be a problem, so I parked about a mile away and rode my bike right up to the start. I started out with the first group/wave of about 1000. The weather was perfect. Cool in the upper 40’s to very low 50’s. No wind at first, but there was a noticeable head wind on the straightaway in the last 4-5 miles. There was only one “hill”, not much to be concerned about.

Overall, a good race for me. Much better pacing than me half marathon a few weeks ago. Still didn’t have the endurance near the end like I had last year and faded a bit in the last couple of miles.

ScreenCapture-50

Note to future self: need more miles and longer runs in preparation. Some speed work and HIITs as well.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SURF CITY HALF MARATHON 2014

  1. Amanda says:

    I love the medals! Congratulations

Leave a Reply

